Dr. Lisa Sturtevant serves as Executive Director of the Center for Housing Policy and Vice President for Research for the National Housing Conference. Her primary areas of research include housing, migration, demographics and regional economic development. Prior to becoming head of the Center, Dr. Sturtevant served as Deputy Director of the Center for Regional Analysis and Associate Research Professor at the George Mason University School of Public Policy. She also worked from 2000 to 2005 in the Arlington County, Virginia Department of Community Planning, Housing and Development. Dr. Sturtevant completed her PhD in public policy from George Mason University in May 2006. She received her master’s degree in public policy from the University of Maryland in 2000 and a BS in mathematical economics from Wake Forest University in 1994.      

The Center for Housing Policy is advised by NHC’s Research Committee, which supports and promotes NHC’s research and helps to advance the Center’s research agenda.  Members of the Research Committee also serve as members of NHC’s Board of Governors.  

Selected for their knowledge and expertise, these individuals provide insight on current housing policy related research issues. In addition, the members of the Research Committee actively collaborate with the Center on research strategies, outreach, publications, events and more.

NHC’s Research Committee is comprised by the following individuals:

Kent Colton, President of The Colton Housing Group and a former Senior Scholar at Harvard University's Joint Center for Housing Studies

Vice Chair
Mark Willis, Resident research fellow at the Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy at New York University

At Large Members
Ted Chandler, Chief Operating Officer of the AFL-CIO Housing Investment Trust
Sheila Crowley, President and CEO of the National Low Income Housing Coalition
Chris Estes, President and CEO of the National Housing Conference
Sydelle Knepper, Founder of SKA Marin
John McIlwain, Senior Resident Fellow at the Urban Land Institute and ULI / J. Ronald Terwilliger Chair for Housing
Dan Nissenbaum, Chief Operating Officer of the Urban Investment Group, a division of Goldman Sachs Bank USA
Christine M.J. Oliver, President and CEO of the Chicago Dwellings Association
Tony Salazar, President, West Coast Operations at McCormack Baron Salazar
Ann Schnare, Principal at AB Schnare Associates and a senior expert at Navigant Economics
Brian Tracey, Community Development, Lending and Investments Executive for Bank of America


Nancy Andrews, Low Income Investment Fund

Donald Bradley

David A. Crowe, National Association of Home Builders

Helen M. Dunlap

Jane Fortson Eisenach, Fortson Eisenach Associates, Inc.

Joseph Errigo

David F. Garrison

Charles M. Hill, Sr., Charles Hill & Associates, Inc.

Bruce J. Katz, The Brookings Institution

Carol Lamberg, Settlement Housing Fund, Inc.

David Lereah, Reecon Advisors

Chris Lord, Chris Lord & Associates, LLC

Kenneth Lore, Bingham McCutchen LLP

Terri Ludwig, Enterprise Community Partners, Inc.

Stuart McFarland, Federal City Capital Advisors, LLC

Kathryn P. Nelson

Sandra J. Newman, Johns Hopkins University

Jim Park, Asian Real Estate Association of America

Munsun Park, Jonathan Rose Companies

J. Michael Pitchford, Community Preservation and Development Corporation

Nicolas P. Retsinas, Harvard Joint Center for Housing Studies

Michael Rubinger, Local Initiatives Support Corporation

Kris Siglin, Enterprise Community Partners, Inc.

Lawrence B. Simons

Dianne J. Spaulding, Non-Profit Housing Association of Northern California

Stacey D. Stewart, United Way of America

Monica Hilton Sussman, Nixon Peabody LLP

J. Ronald Terwilliger, Trammell Crow Residential

Steven J. Tuminaro, NeighborWorks America

John C. Weicher, Hudson Institute